the boy book -- e. lockhart

Yeah, I know.  I can't believe I only just picked this one up, either.

In my defense, I didn't know it was a Ruby Oliver book.  I thought it was a quirky, tongue-in-cheek self-help-type book about, you know, boys.  For some reason, I had no idea that it was a novel.  And my library doesn't own it (AHEM.), so I never got around to picking it up to double-check.

Boy_bookNow that Frankie Landau is almost upon us, I decided that I needed to get caught up on my e. lockhart, so I sucked it up and ILLed both The Boy Book and Fly on the Wall* and in so doing, discovered my egregious error**. 

ANYWAY.

the boy book picks up at the beginning of Ruby's junior year.  Except for her friends Noel and Meghan, she's a total leper at school due to the events chronicled in the boyfriend list.  She's still seeing her therapist, Dr. Z.  On the bright side of things, she doesn't have to deal with her ex-best-friend Kim, because Kim's halfway around the world, living the exchange student life.

First off, it isn't necessary to read the boyfriend list to enjoy the hell out of this one.  Secondly, these books are a must read for fans of Rennison, Cabot, McCafferty and other chick-litty types.  There's more emotional depth and character development in these than in the Rennison or Cabot books***, but they still feel light and fluffy.  Ruby's a girl who most girls (and probably a lot of guys) will identify with in one way or another****.  Love her.

So, e. lockhart:  Will there be another Ruby book?

Please don't say no.

__________________________________________________________

*Yeah, my library doesn't have Fly on the Wall, either.  What is UP with that?  Well, okay, they have the audio.  But I still haven't branched out into audio books, so that doesn't do me any good.

**I've had some sugar this morning.  Sorry.  And spending time with Ruby would making anyone ramp up their footnotage, so... so there.

***On Ruby's part, anyway -- she grows more of the course of this book than Mia Thermopolis has in, like, ten.  And Georgia is Georgia is Georgia.  I wouldn't want her to change.

****And she has great taste in movies.